Klimt’s Golden Masterpiece

Although ostensibly I’m not in the game of offering film reviews, in the case of the recent film release, “Woman in Gold”, which I saw at the weekend, I can’t help myself.  I haven’t enjoyed a film so much in quite a long time.  The press reviews for this film were lukewarm  –  so much so that I almost thought twice about parting with my £25 for a pair of cinema tickets.  I’m glad I did.  The Daily Mail had awarded the film a disappointing three stars.  For me, it was at least a four and a half, if not a five star film.  Based on a true story, the film took for it’s subject matter the restitution of artworks stolen from Jews by the Nazis  –  in this case a now famous painting by Klimt entitled “Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I”.

Not only do I enjoy the work of Klimt, I particularly admire this painting, adorned as it is in sumptuous gold leaf.  Interestingly, in the film we only see the painting in all it’s resplendent luminosity once the painting has been restored to its rightful owner.  Before this point in the film the painting seems somewhat dulled down.  I’m not sure if this was a deliberate ploy on the part of the director, but it certainly seems fitting.

I’m so moved by the film that I have decided that I will compose a piece of music which focuses on this Klimt painting.  Watch this space!

Interestingly, the music in the film, composed by Martin Phipps and Hans Zimmer, did not impinge on my consciousness one little bit  –  proof of a successful film score, I think!

The Lady In Gold

Leave a Reply

