Music Of Its Time

In my last post I spoke about the need for originality as being imperative in the acquisition of a new compositional voice.  Another aspect which I think is important for art to speak to the people of its time is for it also to be of  its time.  I sometimes wonder in which medium any of the Great Masters such as Mozart or Beethoven would be working now, if they were here today.  It seems to me that they would be creating wonders in the field of digital sound rather than continuing to compose for the standard orchestra, which, with the odd possible exception, seems to be rather “frozen” in time.  At the very least I think they would be working with a fusion of the two media.

These thoughts lead me to the conclusion that I must, at least to start with, work with electronic/digital sound.  Of course, there are many, many people with far more experience than I in dealing with music technology  –  but I would like to at least hope that with all my years of experience of composing in a traditional style and for traditional instruments, I might have enough skill in manipulating sound to create something of interest, something of value, and most importantly of all to me at the moment, something original!

Leave a Reply

